NHTSA publishes 5-star safety ratings for 2016 pickups

Updated Mar 27, 2016

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has published its 5-star safety ratings for most 2016 pickups. We’ve compiled the ratings below for your convenience.

Beginning with 2011 models, NHTSA started using more challenging tests coupled with a more rigorous 5-Star Safety Ratings system that provides more information about safety features and crash avoidance technologies. However, the more complex and difficult tests do not allow for safety ratings comparisons to 1990-2010 vehicles.

The following 2016 year model trucks have not yet received any safety ratings from NHTSA: Chevy Silverado 3500, Ford F-350 (all cab configurations), GMC Sierra 1500, GMC Sierra 3500, Toyota Titan and Toyota Titan XD.

All of the following NHTSA ratings were posted on safercar.gov. Recommended technologies (far right column) are listed for some trucks. A key is provided below.

safety key

truck Chevy safety 1

truck Chevy safety 2

truck Chevy safety 3

Ford safety 1

Ford safety 2

Ford safety 3

Ford safety 4

ford safety 5

ford safety 6

truck GMC safety 1

truck GMC safety 2

truck Ram safety 1

truck Ram safety 2

truck Toyota safety 1

truck Toyota safety 2